Random Ramblings

#167 : #FaveFive – Book Siblings

When I was in my kindergarten, I used to bug my parents to bring home a baby so that I could play with her. Yes, I was that specific. I wanted a sister. A brother would be too difficult to handle, I reasoned apparently. My mother still laughs about it till date. God answered my prayers and I was sent a perfect package in the form a tall and witty human being – my sister. She is younger than me by 8 years, but that never translated to a mature relationship. We’ve fought just like any other pair of siblings, but at the end of the day, we are thick as thieves and  I miss her dearly.

The books I read during my childhood, upon me the kind of relationship I ought to have with my sister. Here are some of my favourite book siblings

  1. Jack Trent And Lucy-Ann from Enid Blyton’s Adventure series : My first exposure to fictional siblings. Lucy-Ann cannot just stay away from her brother and he doesn’t mind her tagging along wherever he goes. The beauty of an innocent relationship between siblings when they are young – This series and this pair of character would be the perfect example.
  2. Fred and George Weasley from JK Rowling’s Harry Potter Series – The quintessential example for siblings who just stick to each other no matter what. It is worth pondering if this nature of theirs can be attributed to the fact that they are identical twins. The need to elaborate about this pair diminishes from the very mention of their names.
  3. Thor and Loki from Norse Mythology– Loki is Thor’s adoptive brother and also is the trouble maker out of the pair. Reading Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology changed my perspective about the brothers. They are the perfect example of how not to behave with your siblings!
  4. Anjini, Binodini, Chandralekha, Debjani and Eshwari from Anuja Chauhan’s Those Pricey Thakur Girls – This is one relationship I wish to read upon. I read the sequel to this book – The House that BJ Built. These girls sound like fun and typically Indian. I ought to have the first book before reading the second.
  5. Mycroft And Sherlock Holmes from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Works – Sibling rivalry at it’s best. ‘The Final Problem’ would my favourite work where Mycroft is featured.

FAVE FIVE_WEEK 1.png

 

4 thoughts on “#167 : #FaveFive – Book Siblings

  1. Hello! Thank you for taking part in Fave Five Friday. I loved your list. Interesting choice to have Mycroft and Sherlock as a favourite pair of siblings 😀 Sibling rivalry at it’s best, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

