Random Ramblings

#150 : For The Love Of Reading

 

Before you go on to read this write up, to  understand the extent of the madness I subject to my tiny brain, please read these three blog posts – Of “Brutally Honest” Reviews , A letter to the nosy stranger &  An open letter to arm-chair critics.

I’ve ranted enough about the perils of being a book blogger. Upon reading the rant (mentioned above), my “well wishers” indirectly suggested that I give up reviewing. Apparently, I wasn’t the brightest bulb in the box. My reviews were in first person and that was no proper way to write a review. I didn’t use fancy words or elaborately constructed phrases to describe various aspects of the book. To top it all, I didn’t have an overflowing friend list on Facebook or a insane number of followers on Instagram. Did it all matter? Not one bit really. These criticisms never affected me for a while, but how long could one take it all. No, I’ve not wilted under the pressure of criticism.

I’ve finally taken an informed decision to quit reviewing upon requests/blog tours. There will be no more blog posts from my book blog – bookandink.weebly.com. I just posted the last review which ironically is a translated work from my native language – Tamil. I suppose it is a sign that I ought to start reading books in Tamil.

This journey of writing about books has been very interesting. I’ve met some very interesting and warm people. I want to thank all people who have supported me and put up with my late posts. I know I’m not the perfect example of sticking to the time line when it comes to reviewing. Trust me, I’m the exact opposite when it comes to other real life mundane things.

I would like to apologize to all writer’s whose books I’ve accepted and haven’t reviewed it yet. I’m extremely sorry. I cannot really promise to finish reading it, but if I do, trust me to leave at least a line about it on Goodreads or Amazon.

I ought to thank my mum who inculcated the habit of reading/writing. Mum, you have no idea how much this habit has helped me shape up as a person. Dad, words fail me when I need them the most. I can’t possibly express how thankful I am for raising me to be who I am. Vignesh, I’m sorry. I know you would be disappointed by this decision of mine, but I think it’s high time I hung the boots formally. I’ve not given up reading. I’ve just given up on reviewing.

Dhivya, this post would be incomplete without a mention of you. Thank you. You have no clue how much of an influence you were on me.

‘Why now’ would probably be the question of the hour. I re-iterate. Please read the three posts mentioned in the beginning of this blog. Imagine that rant multiplied by 100, I’ve reached the saturation point. To add it all, my day job has turned very demanding. Balancing it all right now with the state of my mind right now is difficult.

Thank you!

PS. Blimey! 150 posts already? I hope to keep this blog active. I hope to write more. Hope is all I have.

2 thoughts on “#150 : For The Love Of Reading

  1. wow, I’m shocked at all the criticisms you received – I read the 3 posts you highlight here at the beginning.
    As a book blogger, your writing style is yours, and no one has the right to tell you for instance not to write reviews in the first person.
    Indeed, when you write reviews for a literary periodical, another style is requested, and (at least in Europe), 1st person singular is not considered scholarly enough. But a book blog is not a literary magazine!
    Please keep in mind that at France Book Tours, we welcome your review, in the style YOU want to write. As long as it is honestly what YOU think about the book.
    And if you didn’t like the book, we want you to say so, and explain why it didn’t work for you. For sure, usually we can find at least one little redeeming element in a book we don’t like, and it’s also honest to mention that, but if the book as a while is not that good, it’s important to say it.
    I’m glad you keep on reading, looking forward to see more of your opinions on the books you read on Goodreads. Emma

    Like

Leave a Reply

