100 Days of Blogging

#59 : Day Forty – Pachai Niramae! Saathiyaaa!

For the next 30 days it’s purely going to be Rahman fever out here in my blog. I’ll be featuring my favorite of his compositions along with a small write up.

First on the list is my the favorite composition – Pachai Niramae from the movie Alaipayuthay, the super hit movie starring actor Madhavan and Actress Shalini. Rendered by ace singer Hariharan, the song is simply out of world. Based on the classical Raga Kharaharapriya, the transitions bits in this flow like a smooth clear water! Of course, the master himself has sung the first few lines of the song!

Beautiful visuals filled with plush colors are a visual treat apart from the music in itself. Vairamuthu’s lyrics combined with such plush visuals and the soulful music renders the listener spell bound and peaceful.

And here goes the video! Enjoy!

Well! Well! That’s not all for today. There is  live version of this song performed by the original singer in Hariharan at a concert in LA. Trust him to come up with mind-blowing rendition. A friend of mine first gave me a copy of this concert video. We were watching it at his place. He skipped straight to this song and there was no sub-title. The singer Hariharan, had started singing few lines in Hindi. I never expect that to morph into this song. You have to experience it to know what I’m talking about.

Here goes the concert video for those of you who have not watched/listened to it!

PS. Wish me luck. I’m trying my hands at participating int he NaNoWriMo thing this year. I really have no faith that I might finish writing 50K words in a month. However, I aim to complete the story I started writing, thus the conscious decision to avoid writing other subjects in general. Nothing like writing about music I say.

Leave a Reply

