100 Days of Blogging

#34: Day Sixteen – Banana Walnut Cake

Baking is an art. It is fascinating to watch a batter raising to perfection. The aroma of a raising cake is nearly unmatched. I’m neither a great cook nor an ardent foodie.Thankfully, I can cook to save my life. However, there are times when I go mad and decided to experiment. This is the outcome of one such experiment – My version of Banana Walnut cake.

Bananas – I hate them. No. I detest them. After a recent puja at home, there was a bunch of over ripe bananas lying about. My mum kept picking on me and my sister to eat them off before it rots. Eating it as such was out of question, so I decided to turn it into one form I would devour it – Cake. Baring the minor cracks, the recipe worked to dot. Later I learnt that the crack is a typical characteristic of a perfect banana cake.

img_0948

To Bake, you would need,

  • 1 cup Aata or Wheat Flour (250 Grams)
  • ½ tsp Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Baking soda
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp Corn flour
  • 1 tbsp Milk powder
  • ¼th cup oil (Any neutral flavoured oil will do, roughly 60 grams)
  • 100 gm Condensed milk
  • 10 tbsp of mashed bananas – About 3 or 4 moderately to over ripe bananas.
  • ½ tsp Nutmeg powder
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Essence
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnut
  1. Dry and wet ingredients are to handled separately initially. So do keep two bowls ready.
  2. Mash the banana using a hand-blender or using your fingers.
  3. Sieve flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, corn flour, milk powder on to a bowl – Called the dry mix.
  4. Combine oil and condensed milk in a bowl and whisk well until it combines uniformly.
  5. Add this wet mix to the mashed bananas. Whisk and combine well to obtain a perfect mix.
  6. Add the nutmeg powder and vanilla essence to the banana mix.
  7. Now slowly add the dry mix to this banana mixture and fold well until the mix becomes like that of a batter.
  8. Grease a pan well with butter and half of the mixture.
  9. Add one tbsp of chopped walnuts and pour over it the rest of the mixture.
  10. Top with rest of the chopped walnuts
  11. Pre-heat oven at 180 Deg C and bake for 35 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when poked.
  12. Serve warm with hot chocolate or cold with coffee.

Note : I used a combination oven and my oven is relatively new. Thus the baking time may vary. The bananas I used were very ripe and I prefer a moderately sweet cake. Adjust the quantity of the condensed milk as per the ripeness of your banana and your sweet palette. You can also replace chopped walnuts with almonds or un-salted pistachios. The cake with certainly split due the bananas, so don’t panic like I did. If you feel your cake might not cook well or the top might roast too much, cover the pan with foil.

2 thoughts on “#34: Day Sixteen – Banana Walnut Cake

Leave a Reply

