100 Days of Blogging

#25 : Day Eight : My teeny-tiny bucket list

Not exactly the type to wish for something long term. So here is my teeny-tiny bucket list of things I want to do by next year October

  1. Learn to ride a geared bike.
  2. Finish off Neil Gaiman’s collection of short stories – Trigger Warning.
  3. Bake a red velvet cake with icing.
  4. Learn to do make up properly.
  5. Visit West Bengal/Kolkata during Pujo (Durga Puja).
  6. Make a crying child stop crying.
  7. Get a new haircut.
  8. Spend a day all alone by myself.
  9. Spend time with an old stranger listening to their story.
  10. Compliment one person from the opposite gender and one from the same gender.

WHY?

I almost learnt to ride a geared bike back when I lived in Tirunelveli, but life had other plans.

Neil Gaiman’s book – I truly loved the stories I read but after a point I couldn’t just read that book. His narration and language is too beautiful for me to stop reading the book midway.

I have a fascination for red velvet cakes and nothing like witnessing your cake rise perfectly.

Make up and me – *Sigh* I never bothered to learn how to do proper make up. Dab that cream, spread that powder and la, I’m done decking up for that wedding. That’s how it has always been.

The “Visit Kolkata during Durga Puja” has been on my wish list for ages now. I first witnessed a toned down version of Durga Puja when I was in class 9 at the Madras Kali Bari which is run by people from Bengal. Since then, I’ve wanted to visit the original celebration.

It breaks my heart to see a child crying. I’m never good or popular with kids.

I hate my hair. Period.

Freedom is a precious thing. It feels good to be surrounded by people whom I love and who love me back, but I wonder how would it feel to spend the day all alone.

I’ve grown up listening to my grandparents narrating stories, their own life stories. That feel of a different era is unmatched. Wonder what other people have to tell.

It feels great to receive genuine compliments, just passing on happiness.

Leave a Reply

